Its construction was ordered by Francisco Xavier Gómez de Gayangos and his wife María Luisa Ruiz Morquecho. In fact, the coats of arms of these two families can be seen on the western façade.
The palace hosted Jovellanos on his first visit to La Rioja in 1795. With the marriage of Claudia Quintina Gómez de Gayangos to Manuel Antonio de Pobes, it became the residence of the De Pobes family, which is why it has been known since then as the Palace of Pobes. Since 1943, it has belonged to the De la Mata family, when María Teresa de Pobes married Hilario de la Mata. The property is currently owned by the family of Pelayo de la Mata y Pobes, the current Marquess of Vargas and Count of San Cristobal.
The building was remodelled in 2015 for use as a luxury inn, where, in addition to accommodation, they offer unique spaces for events, making the Palace the social building of Marqués de Vargas wineries.